Check list

So what planning am I doing 9 months before I travel?  Spending a lot of time on Pinterest for one.  Not that this is anything unusual mind you, but my browsing definitely has more focus than usual.  I have actually been surprised  by the lack of pins about Northern India, where to go and what to see.  I have come across a few “staying safe in India” blog posts which have been fairly generic and nothing revelatory, and I do wonder that people (especially single women) need to warned not to walk around alone at night?!  Maybe coming from a third world country has made me more aware of personal safety, but I think that can only be a good thing, especially when heading off alone to far away places.  The articles I have found most useful are of the “what to pack” genre and I have got some really good ideas that I think will make the whole experience so much better (packing cubes and travel sheets anyone?)

My Things to Do checklist goes something like this

  • Order credit card to pay for flights (done)
  • Book flights
  • Book and pay India Someday, for the awesome itinerary they have devised for me.  I still have a few pangs about not planning my own trip, but I have such a good feeling about this company and what they have suggested for me that I feel it’s the right thing for me.  Anyway, who am I trying to impress?  I know how to book travel and accommodation (in fact, I do it for a living) so I don’t need to prove anything to anyone, and if I can support a local business who has, I think, a fantastic thing going for them, then all the better.
  • Find out about vaccinations and get them done!!
  • Buy some Indian clothes (the plan is to buy a few kurtas and loose trousers or leggings).  It would be so cheap to buy them when I get there, but bargaining fills me with dread.  I know it is customary to bargain in India, however I just can’t stop feeling like I’m being rude, cheap and taking advantage.  I met a wonderful woman while working on an organic farm in Spain last year who told me that we should do things that are opposite to our personality in order to grow so I’m trying to see this as just such a challenge, I mean opportunity!)

 

As you can see, I haven’t done a great deal of actual doing.  I’ve had a sore throat and cold which has taken more out of me than it should have, and I’m waiting for my credit card to arrive.  I’m not sure of the exact benefits of paying by credit card (better security for your booking and good credit?), that’s still something I’m figuring out, but I know it’s a good idea!  Note. I do have the money in the bank – I’m not proposing you go and buy something you can’t afford!!

I’m looking forward to the moment when my flights are booked, because that’s when it all becomes real!  And then I can start buying clothes 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

